Glory satellite to launch today

NASA’S GLORY SPACECRAFT is scheduled for launch on Friday, March 4. Technical issues with ground support equipment for the Taurus XL launch vehicle led to the scrub of the original February 23 launch attempt. Those issues have been resolved.

The lift-off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, is targeted for 9:09:34pm Sydney time (5:09:43am US EST), in the middle of a 48-second launch window. Spacecraft separation from the rocket will occur 13 minutes after launch.

Taurus XL ready for lift-off at Vandenberg Air Force Base

Glory's Taurus XL rocket stands ready at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Image courtesy NASA / Randy Beaudoin, VAFB.

Data from the Glory mission will allow scientists to better understand how the Sun and tiny atmospheric particles called aerosols affect Earth’s climate.

The Taurus XL also carries the first of NASA’s Educational Launch of Nanosatellite missions. This auxiliary payload contains three small satellites called CubeSats, which were designed and created by university and college students.

NASA Television will carry launch coverage beginning March 4 at 7:30pm Sydney time (3:30am US EST). This coverage will be streamed live online at: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv

Real-time updates of countdown and launch milestones will be posted on NASA’s launch blog beginning at the same time at: http://www.nasa.gov/glory

Adapted from information issued by NASA.

Get SpaceInfo.com.au daily updates by RSS or email! Click the RSS Feed link at the top right-hand corner of this page, and then save the RSS Feed page to your bookmarks. Or, enter your email address (privacy assured) and we’ll send you daily updates. Or follow us on Twitter, @spaceinfo_oz

Filed Under: Earth from SpaceFeatured storiesNews ArchiveSpaceflightVideos

Tags:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.